Georgetown University
Georgetown University Libraries
Navigation tabs

Guide to Research: Turabian Bibliographic Form: Footnote/Endnote Style

The examples in this guide are meant to introduce you to the basics of citing sources using Kate Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (sixth edition).  Kate Turabian created her first "manual" in 1937 as a means of simplifying for students The Chicago Manual of Style; this current edition of Turabian is based on the fourteenth edition of the Chicago Manual. Note: The seventh edition has now been published.  For types of resources not covered in this guide (e.g., government documents, manuscript collections, video recordings) and for further information about the examples included below, please consult the handbook itself (LB 2369 .T8 1996) and/or a Reference Librarian.  This guide can be found online at http://www.library.georgetown.edu/guides/turabianfoot/

Whenever you refer to or use another's words, facts or ideas in your paper, you are required to cite the source.  Traditionally, disciplines in the humanites (art, history, music, religion, theology) require the use of bibliographic footnotes or endnotes in conjunction with a bibliography to cite sources used in research papers and dissertations.  For parenthetical reference (author-date), please refer to the separate guide Turabian Bibliographic Form: Parenthetical Reference.  *It is best to consult with your professor to determine the preferred citation style.

Georgetown University Libraries introduces RefWorks, a free service to Georgetown University students, faculty, staff, and alumni. RefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers gather, manage, store, and share information as well as to generate citations and bibliographies. Use RefWorks to create citations in many formats including Turabian. http://www.library.georgetown.edu/scholar/refworks.html

 

 

I. FOOTNOTES / ENDNOTES & BIBLIOGRAPHY

Indicate notes in the text of your paper by using consecutive superscript numbers (as demonstrated below).  The actual note is indented and can occur either as a footnote at the bottom of the page or as an endnote at the end of the paper.  To create notes, type the note number followed by a period on the same line as the note itself.  This method should always be used for endnotes; it is the preferred method for footnotes.  However, superscript numbers are acceptable for footnotes, and many word processing programs can generate footnotes with superscript numbers for you.

Note: Turabian's Manual provides limited examples for electronic publications.  Therefore, many of the examples for citing electronic documents provided below are Lauinger Library staff interpretations and adaptations based on the available information.

A. Books

Following are elements that you may need to use in your bibliographic citation for your first footnote or endnote and in your bibliography:

1. Author or editor
2. Title
3. Compiler, translator, or editor (if an editor is listed in addition to an author)
4. Edition
5. Name of series, including volume or number used
6. Place of publication, publisher, and date of publication
7. Page numbers of citation (for footnote or endnote)

Examples:

1. ONE AUTHOR OR EDITOR OR CORPORATE AUTHOR

Text

Author

Charles Hullmandel experimented with lithographic techniques throughout the early nineteenth century, patenting the "lithotint" process in 1840.1

Editor

Human beings are the sources of "all international politics;" even though the holders of political power may change, this remains the same.1

Corporate Author

Children of Central and Eastern Europe have not escaped the nutritional ramifications of iron deficiency, a worldwide problem.1

First footnote

        1Michael Twyman, Lithography 1800-1850 (London:  Oxford University Press, 1970), 145-146.

        1Valerie M. Hudson, ed., Culture and Foreign Policy (Boulder: L. Rienner Publishers, 1997), 5.

        1UNICEF, Generation in Jeopardy: Children in Central and Eastern Europe and the Former
Soviet Union, edited by Alexander Zouev (Armonk: M. E. Sharpe, 1999), 44.

Second footnote

      Method A: Include the author's last name, the title (or an abbreviated title), and the
      page number.

        2Twyman, Lithography 1800-1850, 50.

        2Hudson, ed., Culture and Foreign Policy, 10.

        2UNICEF, Generation in Jeopardy, 48.

      Method B: Include the author's last name and the page number.  Use Method A if
      you need to cite more than one reference by the same author.

2Twyman, 50.

2Hudson, ed., 10.

             2UNICEF, 48.

Endnote

         1. Michael Twyman, Lithography 1800-1850 (London:  Oxford University Press, 1970), 145-146.

         2. Ibid.

Ibid., short for ibidem, means "in the same place."  Use ibid. if you cite the same page of the same work in succession without a different work intervening.  If you need to cite a different page of the same work, include the page number.  For example:  2Ibid., 50.

Bibliography

Hudson, Valerie, N., ed. Culture and Foreign Policy. Boulder: L. Rienner Publishers, 1997.

Twyman, Michael.  Lithography 1800-1850.  London:  Oxford University Press, 1970.

UNICEF.  Generation in Jeopardy: Children in Central and Eastern Europe and the
           Former Soviet Union.  Edited by Alexander Zouev.  Armonk: M. E. Sharpe, 1999.

2. TWO OR MORE AUTHORS OR EDITORS

First footnote

        3Russell Keat and John Urry, Social Theory as Science, 2d ed. (London:  Routledge
and K. Paul, 1982), 196.

For references with more than three authors, in the note cite the first named author followed by "et al."  Cite all authors in the bibliography.

        4Leonard B. Meyer, et al., The Concept of Style, ed. Berel Lang (Philadelphia:  University
of Pennsylvania Press, 1979), 56.

Second footnote

        5Keat and Urry, Social Theory as Science, 200.

        6Meyer, et al., The Concept of Style, 90.

Bibliography

Keat, Russell, and John Urry.  Social Theory as Science, 2d. ed.  London:  Routledge and
        K. Paul, 1982.

Meyer, Leonard B., Kendall Walton, Albert Hofstadter, Svetlana Alpers, George Kubler, Richard
         Wolheim, Monroe Beardsley, Seymour Chatman, Ann Banfield, and Hayden White.  The 
         Concept of Style.  Edited by Berel Lang.  Philadelphia:  University of Pennsylvania Press,
         1979.  

3. ELECTRONIC BOOK

First footnote

Include the access date and URL.

        7John Rae, Statement of Some New Principles on the Subject of Political Economy [book
on-line]  (Boston:  Hillard, Gray and Company, 1834, accessed 22 April 2002); available from
http://socserv2.socsci.mcmaster.ca/~econ/ugcm/3ll3/rae/newprin.html; Internet.

Electronic Book from a Scholarly Project - Include the name of the project.

        8Willa Cather, The Professor's House [book on-line]  (New York:  Knopf, 1925; accessed
22 April 2002); available from Humanities Text Initiative, http://www.hti.umich.edu/cgi/p/pd-modeng/
pd-modeng-idx?type=header&idno=CatheProfH; Internet.

Second footnote

Note: Turabian gives no guidance for subsequent footnotes to online books.  The following examples are Lauinger Library staff adaptations.

        9Cather, The Professor's House.

       10Rae, Statement of Some New Principles on the Subject of Political Economy.

Bibliography

Cather, Willa.  The Professor's House.  New York:  A. A. Knopf, 1825.  Book on-line.
        Available from Humanities Text Initiative, http://www.hti.umich.edu/cgi/p/pd-modeng/
        pd-modeng-idx?type=header&idno=CatheProfH.  Accessed 22 April 2002.

Rae, John.  Statement of Some New Principles on the Subject of Political Economy.
        Boston:  Hillard, Gray and Company, 1834.  Book on-line.  Available from
        http://socserv2.socsci.mcmaster.ca/~econ/ugcm/3ll3/rae/newprin.html.  Accessed
        22 April 2002.

4. ANTHOLOGY

First footnote

       11Stephen Knight, "Robin Hood: Men in Tights:  Fitting the Tradition Snugly," in Robin Hood:
An Anthology of Scholarship and Criticism, ed. Stephen Knight (Woodbridge:  D. S. Brewer, 1999), 461.

       12Richard Barrick, John Sullivan, and Alexander White, "The American Bloody Register," in
Pillars of Salt:  An Anthology of Early American Criminal Narratives, comp. Daniel E. Williams
(Madison: Madison House, 1993), 256.     

Second footnote

       13Knight, "Robin Hood: Men in Tights," 466.

       14Barrick, Sullivan, and White, "The American Bloody Register," 248, 250.

Bibliography

Knight, Stephen.  "Robin Hood: Men in Tights:  Fitting the Tradition Snugly."  In Robin Hood:  An
         Anthology of Scholarship and Criticism, ed. Stephen Knight, 461-467.  Woodbridge:  D. S.
         Brewer, 1999.

Barrick, Richard, John Sullivan, and Alexander White.  "The American Bloody Register."  In Pillars of
        Salt:  An Anthology of Early American Criminal Narratives, comp. Daniel E. Williams, 233-
        258.  Madison:  Madison House, 1993.      

5. MULTIVOLUME WORK

First footnote

For a reference to an entire multivolume work:

        15Silvan S. Tomkins, Affect, Imagery, Consciousness, 4 vols. (New York: Springer, 1962-1992).

For a reference to an individual volume:

        16Silvan S. Tomkins, Affect, Imagery, Consciousness (New York:  Springer, 1962), 1: 20.

Second footnote

        17Tomkins, Affect Imagery, Consciousness, 1: 22.

Bibliography

Tomkins, Silvan S.  Affect, Imagery, Consciousness, 4 vols.  New York:  Springer, 1962-1992.

or

Tompkins, Silvan S.  Affect, Imagery, Consciousness, vol. 1, The Positive Affects.  New York:  
         Springer, 1962.

6. EDITION

First footnote

       18Robert N. Anthony and James S. Reese, Accounting Principles, 7th ed.  (Chicago:  Irwin,
1995), 534.

Reprint edition

       19Sir John Hawkins, General History of the Science and Practice of Music (London:  J. Alfred
Novello, 1853; reprint, New York:  Dover Publications, 1963), 1: 20 (page citations are to the reprint edition).

Second footnote

       20Anthony and Reese, Accounting Principles, 530.

       21Hawkins, General History of the Science and Practice of Music, 1: 22.     

Bibliography

Anthony, Robert N., and James S. Reese.  Accounting Principles, 7th ed.  Chicago:  Irwin,
        1995.

Hawkins, John, Sir.  General History of the Science and Practice of Music, 2 vols.  London:
        J. Alfred Novello, 1853.  Reprint, New York:  Dover Publications, 1963.

7. TRANSLATION

First footnote

        22Desiderius Erasmus, The Praise of Folly, trans. Clarence H. Miller (New Haven:  Yale
University Press, 1979), 115.

Second footnote

         23Erasmus, The Praise of Folly, 128.

Bibliography

Erasmus, Desiderius.  The Praise of Folly.  Translated by Clarence H. Miller.  New Haven:  Yale
        University Press, 1979.

8. ARTICLE IN A REFERENCE BOOK

If you use an article from a well-known reference book (e.g., The Encyclopaedia Britannica), you would usually not list it in your bibliography.  In the note, you may omit the publication information but you must include the edition.

Footnote
(The abbreviation "s.v.," for sub verbo or sub voce, means "under the word.")

        24The New Encyclopaedia Britannica: Micropaedia, 15th ed., s. v.  "Audubon, John James."

        25"Audubon, John James," in Encyclopaedia Britannica Online, 2002 [database on-line];
available from http://www.search.eb.com/eb/article?eu=11353; Internet; accessed 22 April 2002.

        26Roger Crisp, "Ethics," in Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 1998 [CD-ROM].

B. Articles in Periodicals

Include some or all of the following elements in your first footnote or endnote and in your bibliography:

1. Author
2. Article title
3. Periodical title
4. Volume number or Issue number (or both)
5. Publication date
6. Page numbers

For online periodicals, add:
7. Date of access and URL, or
8. Database name, date of access, and URL (if available, include database publisher and city of publication)

Examples:

1. SCHOLARLY JOURNAL

First footnote

         27Lawrence Freedman, "The Changing Roles of Military Conflict,"  Survival 40, no. 4 (1998):  52.

If a journal has continuous pagination within a volume, you do not need to include the issue number.

           28John T. Kirby, "Aristotle on Metaphor," American Journal of Philology 118 (1997):  520.

Second footnote

         29Kirby, "Aristotle on Metaphor," 545.

         30Freedman, "The Changing Roles of Military Conflict," 49.   

Bibliography     

Freedman, Lawrence.  "The Changing Roles of Miltary Conflict."  Survival 40, no. 4 (1998):  39-56.

Kirby, John T.  "Aristotle on Metaphor."  American Journal of Philology 118 (1997):  517-554.  

Electronic Periodicals

Include the date of access and the URL of the article.

        31Lawrence Freedman, "The Changing Roles of Military Conflict,"  Survival 40, no. 4 (1998):
52 [journal on-line]; available from http://www3.oup.co.uk/surviv/hdb/Volume_40/Issue_04/pdf/
400039.pdf; Internet; accessed 24 April 2002.

        32John T. Kirby, "Aristotle on Metaphor," American Journal of Philology 118 (1997):  520
[journal on-line]; available from http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/american_journal_of_philology/v118/
118.4kirby.pdf; Internet; accessed 24 April 2002.

Fulltext of an article from a Database

Include the database name, data of access, and URL of the article.  Include also the database publisher and city of publication if they are available.

         33Lawrence Freedman, "The Changing Roles of Military Conflict,"  Survival 40, no. 4 (1998)
[database on-line]; available from PA Research II (Ann Arbor:  ProQuest Information and Learning
Company, accessed 24 April 2002); http://proquest.umi.com/; Internet.

Note: Turabian gives no guidance for subsequent footnotes to electronic periodicals or fulltext articles accessed using a database.  If the online version is paginated, then we suggest that you cite the second note as you would for a printed periodical.  For example:

         34Freedman, "The Changing Roles of Military Conflict," 49.

If the online version is unpaginated, we suggest that you cite the second note as follows:

         34Freedman, "The Changing Roles of Military Conflict."

Bibliography

Freedman, Lawrence.  "The Changing Roles of Military Conflict."  Survival 40, no. 4
        (1998):  39-56.  Journal on-line.  Available from http://www3.oup.co.uk/surviv/
        hdb/Volume_40/Issue_04/pdf/400039.pdf.  Accessed 24 April 2002.

or

Freedman, Lawrence.  "The Changing Roles of Military Conflict."  Survival 40, no. 4 (1998):  39-
        56.  Database on-line.  Available from PA Research II, Ann Arbor:  ProQuest Information
        and Learning Company, http://proquest.umi.com.  Accessed 24 April 2002.

Kirby, John T.  "Aristotle on Metaphor."  American Journal of Philology 118 (1997): 517-554.  Journal
        on-line.  Available from http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/american_journal_of_philology/
        v118/118.4kirby.pdf.  Accessed 24 April 2002.

2. MAGAZINE

First footnote

Monthly or Bimonthly

          35Paul Goldberger, "Machines for Living:  The Architectonic Allure of the Automobile,"
Architectural Digest 53 (October 1996):  82.

Weekly

         36Steven Levy and Brad Stone, "Silicon Valley Reboots," Newsweek, 25 March 2002, 45.

         36Steven Levy and Brad Stone, "Silicon Valley Reboots," Newsweek, 25 March 2002 [magazine
on-line]; available from http://www.msnbc.com/news/724796.asp?cp1=1; Internet; accessed 27 March
2002.

Second footnote

         37Goldberger, "Machines for Living," 82.

         38Levy and Stone, "Silicon Valley Reboots," 46.

Bibliography

Goldberger, Paul.  "Machines for Living:  The Architectonic Allure of the Automobile."  Architectural
        Digest 53 (October 1996):  82.

Levy, Steven, and Brad Stone.  "Silicon Valley Reboots."  Newsweek, 25 March 2002, 42-50.

or

Levy, Steven, and Brad Stone.  "Silicon Valley Reboots."  Newsweek, 25 March 2002.  Magazine
        on-line.  Available from http://www.msnbc.com/news/724796.asp?cp1=1.  Accessed 27
        March 2002.

3. ANONYMOUS ARTICLE

First footnote

        39"Information to Die For," Marketing Health Services 22, no. 1 (2002):  41.

        39"Information to Die For," Marketing Health Services 22, no. 1 (2002) [database on-line];
available from ABI/Inform (Ann Arbor:  ProQuest Information and Learning Company, accessed
24 April 2002); http://proquest.umi.com/; Internet.

Second footnote

         40"Information to Die For," 42.  

Bibliography

"Information to Die For."  Marketing Health Services 22, no. 1 (2002):  40-42.

"Information to Die For."  Marketing Health Services 22, no. 1 (2002).  Database on-line.
      Available from ABI/Inform, Ann Arbor:  ProQuest Information and Learning Company,
      http://proquest.umi.com.  Accessed 24 April 2002.

4. NEWSPAPER

First footnote

       41Eric Pianin, "Use of Arsenic in Wood Products to End," The Washington Post, 13 February
2002, sec. A, p. 2.

       41Eric Pianin, "Use of Arsenic in Wood Products to End," The Washington Post, 13 February
2002 [newspaper on-line]; available from http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/
A1149-2002Feb12.html; Internet; accessed 13 February 2002.

       41Eric Pianin, "Use of Arsenic in Wood Products to End," The Washington Post, 13 February
2002, sec. A, p. 2 [database on-line]; available from LEXIS-NEXIS® Academic Universe, accessed
13 February 2002; http://www.lexis-nexis.com/universe; Internet.

Second footnote

       42Pianin, "Use of Arsenic in Wood Products to End," sec. A, p. 2.

Bibliography

Note: when using Turabian, newspaper articles are rarely cited in a bibliography.

Pianin, Eric.  "Use of Arsenic in Wood Products to End."  The Washington Post, 13 February
       2002, sec. A, p. 2.

Pianin, Eric.  "Use of Arsenic in Wood Products to End."  The Washington Post, 13 February
       2002.  Newspaper on-line.  Available from http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/
       A1149-2002Feb12.html.  Accessed 13 February 2002.

Pianin, Eric.  "Use of Arsenic in Wood Products to End."  The Washington Post, 13 February
       2002, sec. A, p. 2.  Database on-line.  Available from LEXIS-NEXIS® Academic
        Universe, http://www.lexis-nexis.com/universe.  Accessed 3 March 2002.

5. REVIEW

First footnote

         44Alanna Nash, "Hit 'em with a lizard,"  review of Basket Case, by Carl Hiassen, The New York
Times, 3 February 2002, sec. 7, p. 24.

         44Alanna Nash, "Hit 'em with a lizard,"  review of Basket Case, by Carl Hiassen, The New York
Times, 3 February 2002, sec. 7, p. 24 [database on-line]; available from LEXIS-NEXIS®
Academic Universe, accessed 20 February 2002; http://www.lexis-nexis.com/universe; Internet.

Second footnote

          45Nash, "Hit 'em with a lizard," 24.

Bibliography

Nash, Alanna.  "Hit 'em with a lizard!"  Review of Basket Case, by Carl Hiassen.  The New York
        Times, 3 February 2002, sec 7, p. 24.

Nash, Alanna.  "Hit 'em with a lizard!"  Review of Basket Case, by Carl Hiassen.  The New York
        Times, 3 February 2002, sec 7, p. 24.  Database on-line.  Available from LEXIS-NEXIS®
        Academic Universe, http://www.lexis-nexis.com/universe.  Accessed 20 February 2002.

C. Web Sites

Note: There are no examples for citing entire Web sites in Turabian's Manual.  The examples below are Lauinger Library staff interpretations based on Turabian style.  If you need to cite an entire Web site, remember to check with your professor to determine what is acceptable.

Include some or all of the following elements when citing entire Web sites:

1. Author or editor of the Web site (if known)
2. Title of the Web site
3. URL
4. Date of access

Examples:

First footnote         

         46Gregory Crane, ed., The Perseus Digital Library [on-line]; available from
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu; Internet; accessed 29 April 2002.

         47Financial Accounting Standards Board [on-line]; available from http://www.fasb.org; Internet;
accessed 29 April 2002.

         48Paul Lewis, Wilkie Collins [on-line]; available from http://www.deadline.demon.co.uk/
wilkie/wilkie.htm; Internet; accessed 29 April 2002.

Bibliography

Crane, Gregory, ed.  The Perseus Digital Library.  Available from http://www.perseus.tufts.edu.  
         Accessed 29 April 2002.  

Financial Accounting Standards Board.  Available from http://www.fasb.org.  Accessed 29 April 2002.

Lewis, Paul.  Wilkie Collins.  Available from http://www.deadline.demon.co.uk/wilkie/wilkie.htm.  
         Accessed 29 April 2002.

See also Electronic Book and Periodicals above.

II. WEB LINKS

Following are links to sites that have either additional information or alternative examples:

1. Web Sources: Their Use and Acknowledgement <http://www.dartmouth.edu/~sources/contents.html>
Dartmouth College's guide explains why and when to cite sources and provides citation examples using APA, MLA, Science citation style, and MLA's footnote and endnote style.

2. Web Citing Sources <http://library.duke.edu/research/guides/citing/>
Duke University's guide to citing sources.  The site offers comparison citation tables with examples from APA, Chicago, MLA and Turabian for both print and electronic works.

3. WebHow to Cite Electronic Sources  <http://memory.loc.gov/learn/start/cite/index.html>
Provides MLA and Turabian examples of citing formats like films, photographs, maps, and recorded sound that are accessed electronically.

4. WebUncle Sam: Brief Guide to Citing Government Publications <http://exlibris.memphis.edu/resource/unclesam/citeweb.html>
The examples in this excellent guide are based on the Chicago Manual of Style and Kate Turabian's Manual.

 


Please send us your comments or suggestions

Content updated: 06/02, ko'c
Links updated: 04/05, ko'c

 

For Library Staff

37th and N Streets, N.W., Washington, D.C., 20057 | (202) 687-7452
Copyright 2004 Georgetown University Libraries
Georgetown University Contact Us Staff Directory Library A-Z For Library Staff: MARTHA InfoX Contact Us Staff Directory Library A-Z Home Catalogs Databases Research Help Services About Us Journal Finder